top of page


Eight Limbs of Yoga

The yamas and the niyamas are the restraints and observances of a yogic lifestyle. They are the foundation with which a yoga practice is based upon. The five yamas are ahimsa (nonharming); satya (truthfulness); asteya (nonstealing); brahmacharya (sexual moderation); and aparigraha (nongrasping). The five niyamas are saucha (purity), samtosha (contentment), tapas (dedication), svadhyaya (self-study), and Ishvara pranidhana (devotion to the highest Self). Yoga Journal has a detailed article on the eight limbs of yoga at

1 Comment

Jun 20, 2019

Great article!

bottom of page